top of page

Blue Remembered Hills: Auditions this April

Updated: Mar 20, 2023

Audition for Blue Remembered Hills and discover your inner child.


Blue Remembered Hills, a play by Dennis Potter from 1979, is a deceptively simple tale that relates the activities of seven English children, played by adults, on a summer afternoon during World War II. In the woods, a field, and a barn, they play, fight, fantasize, and swagger. Their aggressions, fears, hostilities, and rivalries are a microcosm of adult interaction.


Auditions will take place on Sunday 2nd April at 2pm at St Anne’s Church Hall.


Synopsis


This deceptively simple tale relates the activities of seven English children played by adults on a summer afternoon during World War II. In a woods, a field, and a barn, they play, fight, fantasize and swagger. Their aggressions, fears, hostilities and rivalries are a microcosm of adult interaction. Easy-going Willie tags along as burly Peter bullies Raymond and is challenged by fair-minded Paul. Plain Audrey is overshadowed by Angela's prettiness and wreaks her anger on the boys. All of them gang up on the terrified "Donald Duck" who, abused by his mother and ridiculed by his peers, plays a dangerous game of pyromania with tragic results.


Cast

All the cast are seven-year-old children played by adults:

  • Angela

  • Audrey

  • Peter

  • Donald Duck

  • Willie

  • Raymond

  • John


Auditions

Audition date: Sunday 2 April

Time: 2-4PM

Location: St Anne’s Church Hall, St. Ann’s Crescent, Wandsworth, London SW18 2RS

Audition pieces: Download from our Drive.


Key dates

If you are thinking of auditioning, please take the following key dates into consideration.


Rehearsal schedule:

Tuesday evenings (8.15 - 10.15pm) and Sunday afternoon (4 - 8pm) starting Tuesday 2nd May


Set builds: Sat 13th May, Sat 27th May (please note this is a bank holiday weekend), Sat 10th June, all 10.30am - 6.30pm

Light hanging: Fri 21st July, 8 - 10pm

Tech: Sat 22nd July, 10am - 6pm

Dress: Sun 23rd July, 2 - 8pm


Performances:

Wed 26th July, 5 - 9.30pm

Thurs 27th July, 5 - 9.30pm

Fri 28th July, 5 - 9.30pm

Sat 29th July, 5 - 9.30pm


Derig: Sun 30th July, 4 - 8pm


Get involved backstage


The are some great opportunities to get involved in this production as we are looking for a team who can play a part in bringing the production to life. We have specific roles but any help in any way is welcome!


Lighting Designer

Lighting Operator

Sound Designer

Sound Operator

Costume Designer/Assistant

Set Designer


Please email alicec.collins@googlemail.com to find out more about these roles or to offer further support.

Comentarios


bottom of page