External Recognition


At New Stagers, although we’re an amateur theatre group, we like to pride ourselves on the quality of our productions.

Over the last few years, we have won and been nominated for a number of awards from the National Operatic and Dramatic Association as part of their annual London Region awards:

  • 2020

    • Winners:​ The Sybil Conway Award for the Best Female in a Play - Becca Duke as Laura Jesson in Still Life​

  • 2019

    • ​Winners:​ The Nigel Gravette Award for Best Performance in a Pantomime - Keith Barnes as Mrs Nutterson (Dame) in Rapunzel

  • 2018

    • Winners:​ Flame Award for excellence in theatre; Best Female in a Play, Hayley Richardson, Happy to Help

  • 2017

    • Winners: Best Drama, Di and Vi and Rose; Best Female in a Play, Ann Shutte Follow Me​​

  • 2016​​

    • Nominations: Best Male in a Play, Stephen Beard, Macbeth; Best Female in a Play, Catherine Fox-Kirk, Macbeth; Drama Award, Macbeth; Best Performance in Panto, Christine Pearson, Puss in Boots; 

  • 2015

    • Winners: Runner Up for Best Dame, Keith Barnes, Treasure Island

    • Nominations: Comedy Award, Dominic Alan- Smith, Blithe Spirit; Best Panto, Treasure Island

  • 2014

    • Winners:​ Best Drama, Oleanna

    • Nominations: Best Male in a Play, Colin Sheehan &  Best Female in a Play, Ailsa Wright, My Romantic History

  • 2013

    • Winners:​ Flame Award; Best Female Character, Joanna Dodd, Kindertransport; Runner Up for Best Panto, Cinderella

  • 2012

  • 2011

    • Nominations: Best Panto, Dick Whittington

  • 2010​​

    • Nominations: Best Drama, Skirmishes

New Stagers In-House Awards

In November 2003, New Stagers held our first in-house awards ceremony to establish the views of the entire group and award recognition to several deserving productions and members. The ceremony is now biennial, with the group voting on shows for the two previous years.

2017 Winners

  • Best Play: The 39 Steps 

  • Best Director: Veronica Montalbetti, Bouncers

  • Best Actor: Dominic Alan-Smith, The 39 Steps

  • Best Actress: Hayley Richardson, Happy to Help

  • Best Supporting Actress: Ailsa Wright, Happy to Help

  • Best Supporting Actor: Paul Johnson, The 39 Steps

  • Most Memorable Character: Colin Sheehan, Bouncers

  • Best Technical: The 39 Steps

  • Best Costume Design: Crazy Christmas

  • Best Set Design: The 39 Steps

  • Best Producer: Sharron Stubbs

  • Best Stage Manager: Debby Thomas, Sarah Brice & Laura Jane Parsons, The 39 Steps

  • Best Short Play from SUS: Kate Bromage, The Wedding Table

  • Outstanding Contribution: Paul Johnson

  • Special Recognition: Fi Makujina

Previous Winners