Auditions for "Dinner" by Moira Buffini

Updated: Jan 7


Auditions for ‘Dinner’, our April play, will take place on Sunday 12 December at 6.15pm in St Anne’s Church Hall.


Dinner is a comedy chiller, with blood on the carpet before bedtime. It was first performed at the National Theatre in 2002. An artist, a scientist and a sexpot are coming to dinner. Paige, hostess extraordinaire, is celebrating the publication of her husband's bestseller. The arrival of Mike, marooned in the foggy lane after crashing his van, provides an unexpected addition to the evening's entertainment. A silent waiter, sourced from an obscure website, completes the picture.


If you’d like to audition, please fill in this form - either now or on the day.

Characters

Dinner has a cast of 7: 3 women and 4 men. All are decent-size parts and great characters to get your teeth into, much like the dinner itself. One of the men is entirely silent but on stage most of the time, and crucial to the plot with some fantastic scenes. Playing ages are 30s to 50s, with some flexibility. Mike in particular could be in his 20s.

Paige (F): our hostess

Lars (M): an author

Wynne (F): an artist

Hal (M): a scientist

Siân (F): a TV news presenter

Mike (M): a marooned driver/possible burglar

The Waiter (M): a waiter…(with a secret)

Dates:

Rehearsals:

  • Start Tues 1st Feb and then every Tuesday from 8.15pm to 10.15pm and every Sunday from 4pm to 7pm.

Set builds:

  • Sat 12th Feb, 10.30am - 6.30pm

  • Sat 26th Feb, 10.30am - 6.30pm

  • Sat 12th Mar, 10.30am - 6.30pm

Light hanging

  • Fri 22nd Apr, 8 - 10pm

Tech

  • Sat 23rd Apr, 10am - 6pm

Dress

  • Sun 24th Apr, 2 - 8pm

Performances:

  • Wed 27th Apr, 5.30 - 10.30pm

  • Thurs 28th Apr, 6 - 10.30pm

  • Fri 29th Apr, 5.30 - 10.30pm

  • Sat 30th Apr, 5.30 - 10.30pm

Derig:

  • Sun 1st May, 4 - 8pm

Photo by Matteo Raimondi on Unsplash